Department Of Home Affairs Headquarters

Department Of Home Affairs Headquarters

Department Of Home Affairs Headquarters,
We are a government/public organisation. We determine and confirm the status of persons by providing enabling documents in the interest of promoting and protecting the national integrity. This includes, but is not limited to, registration of births, deaths, provision of identity documentation and passports.
Our national hotline is 0800 601 190. Our branch functions as a customer service centre and is also the regional office for the Department of Home Affairs. We charge a fee for some of our services.
Street: 232 Proes and Andries Street
District (Location): Pretoria
City: Pretoria
Province: Gauteng
Postcode: 0001
Phone: 012 406 2500
 Contact Centre Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Phone: 0800 601 190
Business Days:

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday

The duties and responsibilities of the Department of Home Affairs stem from the South African Constitution, various legislation, as well as other policy documents.
The Department’s services are divided into two broad categories, Civic Services and Immigration Services.

The department is responsible for:

  • Maintenance of the National Population Register (the civil registry), including the recording of births, marriages/civil partnerships and deaths.
  • Issuing identity documents and passports.
  • Issuing visas for visitors to South Africa (although visa applications pass through embassies or consulates which are part of the Department of International Relations and Cooperation).
  • Managing immigration to South Africa and naturalization of permanent immigrants.
  • Handling refugees and asylum seekers in South Africa.
  • Controlling ports of entry at land borders, seaports and airports.


Offices open to the public as follows:

Monday – Friday: 8:00 to 16:00
Saturday8:30 to 12:30 (closed until further notice)
Every last Wednesday of the month: 9:00 to 16:00

Scroll to Top