Department Of Basic Education Gauteng Province

Department Of Basic Education Gauteng Province

Department Of Basic Education Gauteng Province, The vision of the Gauteng Department of Education is to ensure that all learners in Gauteng do well at school and leave their institutions with the values, knowledge, skills and qualifications that will give them the best chance of success in their adult lives. The Department’s mission is to ensure that quality learning and teaching takes place in the classroom every day.
Its strategic goals are to ensure that Gauteng has effective schools and learning institutions; provide relevant, coordinated and effective support; enable young people to make the transition from school to further education and/or work that provides further training opportunities; and strengthen partnerships with all stakeholders, resulting in education becoming a priority in society.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr PA Lesufi
Head of Department
Mr E Mosuwe


Mr Panyaza Andrek Lesufi
Head of Department:
Mr Edward Mosuwe
Mr Johan van Coller
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Albert Chanee (Education Policy and Planning)
Ms Alison Mali (Curriculum)
Mr Shirley Mashala (Corporate Services)
Mr Rufus Mmutlana (GCRA CEO)
Vuyani Mpofu (ISM&G)
Chief Directors:
Ntini Mtshizana (Advisory Services)
Ms Elizabeth Thobejane (GCRA)
Thapelo Dlamini (Office of the MEC)
Makubetse Sekhonyane (Office of the HOD)
Communications Officers:
Mr Oupa Bodibe (Acting Chief Director: Communication Spokesperson)

Contact Details


Postal PO Box 7710, Johannesburg, 2000
Physical 111 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg, 2001
Tel 011 355 1510

Ufiling | ufiling register | ufiling login | ufiling labour | status check | payment | ufiling login problems | activate | download