Department Of Human Settlements Bloemfontein

Department Of Human Settlements Bloemfontein

Department Of Human Settlements Bloemfontein, Bloemfontein  is the capital city of the province of Free State of South Africa; and, as the judicial capital of the nation, one of South Africa’s three national capitals (the other two being Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Pretoria, the administrative capital) and is the seventh largest city in South Africa.

Free State Department: Human Settlements

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 211, Bloemfontein, 9300
Physical 7th Floor, Lebohang Building, Cnr Markgraaf & St Andrew’s Streets, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel 051 405 3883
Fax 051 403 3699


The mission of the Free State Department of Human Settlements is to develop cohesive, sustainable and integrated human settlements in the Free State.
The Department is committed to meeting the following specific objectives: accelerating the delivery of housing as a key strategy for poverty alleviation; utilising provision of housing as a major job creation strategy; ensuring that property can be accessed by all as an asset for wealth creation and empowerment; leveraging growth in the economy; combating crime, promoting social cohesion and improving quality of life for the poor; supporting the functioning of the entire single residential property market to reduce duality within the sector; breaking the barriers between the first economy residential property boom and the second economy slump; and utilising housing as an instrument for the development of sustainable human settlements, in support of spatial restructuring.

Scroll to Top