How many passports can a South African have?

The simple answer to “How many passports can a South African have?” is two(2). South Africans are allowed to holdĀ more than two nationalities. It is, however, crucial that persons protect their South African citizenship before taking on any other nationality through naturalisation.

Dual citizenship: South Africa allows dual citizenship, so you can hold a South African passport and a passport from another country. However, it’s crucial to register your dual citizenship with the Department of Home Affairs before you turn 18. Otherwise, you could automatically lose your South African citizenship.

Types of passports:

South Africa issues different types of passports for different needs:

  • Regular passport: Valid for 10 years for South Africans aged 16 and over.
  • Child passport: Valid for minors under 16 and not renewable.
  • Emergency travel certificate: Issued for urgent travel needs, valid for 1 month to 1 year.
  • Maxi passport: For frequent travelers, valid for 30 years.

More than two passports: While there’s no specific limit on the number of passports you can hold, remember that managing multiple passports can be tricky. You’ll need to keep track of expiry dates, renewal processes, and visa requirements for each country.

It’s always best to check with the Department of Home Affairs for the latest information on passport regulations and dual citizenship. They can guide you through the process and ensure you’re following all the rules.