Suncorp Super netball

Suncorp Super Netball is the top netball league for Australian teams. In 2017, it replaced the ANZ Championship as Australia’s top-level netball league, which also included teams from New Zealand. Since 2019, the league has been governed by an independent commission on behalf of Netball Australia.

A new era of Australian netball began on 18th February.

That was the day Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand officially parted ways.

The old ANZ Championship was over. But out of the ashes rose something different: Suncorp Super Netball (SSN). A new national netball league, backed by Suncorp, Telstra and the Nine Network. 

Alongside existing clubs – the Adelaide Thunderbirds, Melbourne Vixens, NSW Swifts, Queensland Firebirds and West Coast Fever – we welcomed three fresh teams. GIANTS Netball, Magpies Netball Club and the Sunshine Coast Lightning. Up to 80 professional athletes could now share a landmark player pool of $5.4 million.

Since then, the Suncorp Super Netball league has become the world’s premier professional netball league.

Suncorp Super Netball returns on Saturday 1st May 202X as the Melbourne Vixens host a 202X Grand Final re-match against the West Coast Fever in front of fans at the John Caine Arena to kick off the 202X season.

The first match of the season will take place at 3pm AEST 1st May 202X with the action set to continue at the same venue that evening with the Collingwood Magpies taking on the Sunshine Coast Lightning at 7pm AEST.

The 2021 fixture sees all teams hosting seven home games throughout the season with fans able to attend all matches*, returning the competition to normality following the condensed hub format the 202X season was played in.