UWC Courses

With UWC Courses, UWC graduates have successful careers and are making an impact across South Africa and internationally. 

With more than 200 degree, diploma and certificate programmes and a universe of subjects to select from, the University can accommodate your career aspirations.

For more information on UWC’s programmes, click on your chosen faculty and select the ‘Programmes’ tab.

  • Faculty Of Arts And Humanities
  • Faculty Of Community And Health Sciences
  • Faculty Of Dentistry
  • Faculty Of Economic And Management Sciences
  • Faculty Of Education
  • Faculty Of Law
  • Faculty Of Natural Sciences

Postgraduate Programmes

Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities offers an exciting range of postgraduate options across its 13 departments at Honours, Master’s and Doctoral levels.

The faculty is one of the leading producers of research at UWC; is home to many internationally recognised researchers and has partnerships with universities and institutions elsewhere in Africa and further afield.

Community and Health Sciences

The Faculty of Community & Health Sciences (CHS) – which has a dual campus modus operandi – is a faculty for community-based, interprofessional education and research in the health and social sciences whose excellence in education and research is recognised globally.

Apart from its postgraduate options across its six departments and three schools, CHS also offers niche postgraduate studies via its two centres.


The Faculty of Dentistry – Africa’s largest dental training school – is a world-class oral health centre committed to the promotion of oral health through excellence of its teaching and learning, service rendering, community engagement and research.

The Academic Oral Health Centres at Tygerberg and at Mitchell’s Plain are at the core of our clinical platform, but clinical care and training activities also take place at the Red Cross War Memorial Children’s and Groote Schuur hospitals, Gugulethu and Mitchell’s Plain Dental Clinics, the Phelophepha Health Trains and many other locations served by our mobile dental clinic.

Economic and Management Sciences

With a vision to be the leading Economic and Management Sciences Faculty recognised for its excellence in relevant learning, teaching and research aimed at transforming society through critical, engaged and applied scholarship.

Its varied postgraduate options – across five departments, two centres, two institutes, two schools and two units – speaks to its mission to contribute to and influencing the social, economic, political and technological development of society through teaching, learning and critical scholarship, in the fields of economic and management sciences, in a digital age.


The Faculty of Education currently offers a wide range of professional and academic programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. These programmes are designed to develop the intellectual, academic and professional capacity of students in teaching and related professions.

They cover fields such as teacher education (both pre-service and in-service), adult education, higher education and vocational education. Added to this are the disciplinary areas such as language education, science and mathematics education, educational psychology, sociology of education, educational leadership and management, curriculum studies, comparative education and policy studies.


The UWC Law Faculty was established as an independent Faculty in 1979 and has a proud history in the struggle against apartheid as well as providing an excellent education in law. Many of its former staff and alumni have occupied and today still occupy high positions in academia, the judiciary, parliament, the executive, the legal profession and in business.

The faculty has approximately 2400 students, of whom about 80 are doctoral students and 280 Master’s students.  The faculty has the expertise to provide supervision for doctoral degrees on a wide range of legal topics and offers specialised master’s degrees in law in a number of fields. The faculty furthermore offers two postgraduate diplomas, which each take in around 50 new students every year.

Natural Sciences

The Faculty of Natural Sciences boasts innovative and relevant learning and teaching programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. We aim to create an enabling environment for students that encourages their intellectual curiosity, and debate. In our faculty you will find scholars who are recognised as national and international leaders in their fields, and who are actively engaged in ground-breaking research. As a faculty we are committed to research that is relevant to the needs and challenges facing our local communities and our country as a whole, but also has a global impact.

At the postgraduate level, the faculty offers 12 honours degrees, one postgraduate diploma, and a number of master’s and doctoral programmes across a wide range of scientific disciplines.