Who must pay a TV license?

In South Africa, anyone who possesses “television receiving equipment” is required by law to pay a TV licence. This includes anyone who owns, rents, or borrows a TV set, even if they do not use it to watch TV broadcasts. The current annual TV licence fee is R265.00.

There are a few exceptions to the TV licence requirement. These include:

  • Schools and other educational institutions
  • Hospitals and other healthcare institutions
  • Hotels and other accommodation establishments
  • Non-profit organisations
  • Pensioners or persons receiving social assistance

If you are not sure whether you are exempt from the TV licence requirement, you can contact the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) on 011 330 9555.

If you are found to be in possession of a TV set without a valid TV licence, you may be fined up to R500 or imprisoned for up to six months. You may also be liable for a penalty of double the licence fee.

To apply for a TV licence, you can visit the SABC website, go to your nearest Post Office, or contact an authorised retailer.