Department Of Economic Development Cape Town

Department Of Economic Development Cape Town

Department Of Economic Development Cape Town

The Department of Economic Development and Tourism’s vision is a Western Cape that has a vibrant, innovative, and sustainable economy, characterised by growth, employment and equitable opportunities, and built on the full potential of all. The department’s¬†organisational structure¬†encompasses:

  • Administration
  • Integrated economic development
  • Trade and sector development
  • Business regulation and governance
  • Economic planning
  • Tourism, arts and entertainment
  • Skills development and innovation
  • Strategic initiatives

Mission
To achieve this vision, the department leads the Western Cape economy using its understanding of the regional economy, its ability to identify economic opportunities and potential, and its contribution to government economic priorities.
The department is the critical link between communities, business and government. It not only implements projects and programmes, but also influences economic growth, development and inclusion, a key strategic objective of the Western Cape Government.
Goal
The goal of the Department is to create the opportunities for businesses and citizens to grow the economy and employment. This will be achieved by embracing five key focus areas:

  • Economic strategy and policy
  • Enabling business environment
  • Demand-led private sector driven support
  • Infrastructure-led growth
  • Decreased skills gap

 

Department Of Economic Development Cape Town Contact Details

12th Floor, NBS Waldorf Building, 80 St George’s Mall, Cape Town, 8001
Postal Address:
PO Box 979, Cape Town, 8000

  1. General Enquiries

Telephone:
021 483 9226
 

  1. Head of Department

Telephone:
021 483 3840
Email:
ecohead@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Head of Department: Solly Fourie
 

  1. Office of the Head of the Department

Telephone:
021 483 9281
Email:
Akanksha.Malik-Nair@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Deputy Director: Akanksha Malik-Nair
Head of Office
 

  1. Communications

Telephone:
021 483 9223
Email:
Martie.Carstens@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Deputy Director: Martie Carstens
 

  1. Intergrated Economic Development Services

Telephone:
021 483 9437
Email:
Keagan.Carr@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Office Manager: Keagan Carr
 

  1. Trade and Sector Development

Telephone:
021 483 9318
Email:
Sharon.Daniels-Robertson@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Office Mananger: Sharon Daniels-Robertson
 

  1. Business Regulation and Governance

Telephone:
021 483 9178
Email:
Songezwa.Tibisono@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Secretary: Songezwa Tibisono
 

  1. Economic Planning

Telephone:
021 483 5976
Email:
Hayley.Lawrence@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Secretary: Hayley Lawrence
 

  1. Tourism, Arts and Entertainment

Telephone:
021 483 8767
Email:
Honjiswa.Malawu@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Secretary : Honjiswa.Malawu
 

  1. Skills Development and Innovation

Telephone:
021 483 9101
Email:
Shannon.Okkers@westerncape.gov.za
Notes:
Personal Assistant: Shannon Okkers