Department Of Home Affairs

Department Of Home Affairs

Department Of Home Affairs, The Department of Home Affairs is a department of the South African government. Ayanda Dlodlo is the current Minister of Home Affairs.

Department overview
Formed 31 May 1910
Jurisdiction Government of South Africa
Headquarters Hallmark Building, Corner of Johannes Ramokhoase & Thabo Sehume Street, Pretoria
Employees 9,375 (2009)
Annual budget R5,719.6 million (2010/11)
Ministers responsible
  • Ayanda Dlodlo, Minister of Home Affairs
  • Fatima Chohan, Deputy Minister of Home Affairs
Department executive
  • Mkuseli Apleni, Director-General: Home Affairs


The department is responsible for:

  • Maintenance of the National Population Register (the civil registry), including the recording of births, marriages/civil partnerships and deaths.
  • Issuing identity documents and passports.
  • Issuing visas for visitors to South Africa (although visa applications pass through embassies or consulates which are part of the Department of International Relations and Cooperation).
  • Managing immigration to South Africa and naturalization of permanent immigrants.
  • Handling refugees and asylum seekers in South Africa.
  • Controlling ports of entry at land borders, seaports and airports.
The Department’s core Civic duties are:
• Maintaining the National Population Register (NPR)
• Managing the birth, marriage and death records
• Determining and granting citizenship
• Issuing travel documents and passports
• Issuing identity documents (ID)
These are achieved by issuing South African nationals and residents with documents pertaining to:
• Births, Marriages and Deaths
• Identity Documents and Identification
• Citizenship
• Travel Documents and Passports

!! Track your Application On-Line !!

National Call Centre
0800 601 190

Address 125 Main Reef Road, Technikon, Roodepoort, 1725
Cellphone 0800601190
Telephone (011) 766 1191 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5
Category Government and Municipal
Scroll to Top